The main Ascend dispensary in Rochelle Park is located between Interstate 80 and the Garden State Parkway, and the RISE dispensaries in Bloomfield are only a few miles from the Parkway.
The Apothecarium is located in Maplewood near Interstate 78, which connects to the Garden State Parkway in Union County.
And if you’re flying into Newark Liberty International Airport? Zen Leaf Elizabeth is less than four miles from Route 9.
No matter where you plan to buy cannabis, you should check it out early.
Every legal herbal dispensary in New Jersey has a 14-hour week that is reserved for patients only. In some cases, entire days are reserved for patients exclusively – so make sure you don’t show up on a date or time when you can’t make it to the store.
Each clinic’s operating model is different. Some welcome visits without any questions asked, while others take clients only by appointment. Others schedule appointments, but visits are accepted if they wait online.
Be sure to check your chosen dispensary website for all the specific information you need, including a list of available products and payment information, such as accepting credit cards.
How much does legal cannabis cost?
As of Thursday, an eighth of an ounce of cannabis was selling for $50 to $60, while lozenges — in flavors like wintergreen, sour watermelon, or cherry — were about $30.
Keep in mind: These dispensaries are supposed to serve medical marijuana patients, first and foremost, so don’t be surprised if some products aren’t available.
How much marijuana am I allowed to buy?
Depending on state law, you can buy up to 1 ounce of cannabis flower, 5 grams of concentrate for vaping or up to 1,000 mg (10 100 mg packets) of food.
But under state law, if you have up to 6 ounces of pot, you face no penalty. But a police officer can seize any amount of cannabis in excess of one ounce – even if it was purchased legally.
Where am I allowed to smoke weed?
In New Jersey, marijuana is treated as a mixture of alcohol and cigarettes – so if you can’t smoke or drink there, you can’t take marijuana.
Unlike in New York, smoking marijuana in public is expressly against state law. Most importantly, this means no parks, trails, or beaches.
And you can’t walk into a bar or restaurant and light it up the same way you can’t smoke a cigarette in a crowded public place.
And just like alcohol, you can still be arrested for driving under the influence. Open container laws apply, too: If you have an unsealed jar or bag of marijuana, it should be in the trunk of your car.
If you’re renting a home for the weekend or for a week while you’re on the Jersey Shore, your landlord can forbid you to take marijuana on the premises—even on the outside patio.
So be sure to read your rental agreement carefully or seek the landlord’s permission before planning a hike while renting out their property.
Can I bring leftovers home?
New Jersey is one of 19 states to legalize weeds for recreational purposes.
But because marijuana is still illegal at the federal level, crossing state borders with marijuana is technically still a drug trade. This is true even for the border between two legal states, such as New Jersey and New York.
So only buy what you know you are going to use, or else you will be putting an expensive trash can on the sidewalk at the end of your stay.
Mike Davis has spent the past decade covering local New Jersey news, marijuana legalization, transportation, and a bit of everything else. He has won some awards which make his parents very proud. Call him at firstname.lastname@example.org or Tweet embed on Twitter.