The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services has released a sample form that people will use to apply for a personal marijuana grow license.
A license is needed for people to grow their own marijuana plants in their homes.
“We’ve been able to put out sample application materials and instructions for everyone to kind of prepare for what they can do in February,” said Lisa Cox, a Department of Homeland Security spokeswoman.
The department will not accept forms until February.
“By February 6th, which was also set for us in the amendment by the drafters, we will begin accepting those applications for personal cultivation,” said Cox.
The timing allows the state to award dispensaries the appropriate licenses to sell marijuana to adults.
“Then those who are approved for personal cultivation will be able to go to those dispensaries to buy the things they need to grow at home,” Cox said.
Missourians will be able to purchase marijuana seeds, seedlings and clones at dispensaries.
Missouri Amendment 3 allows any Missouri resident 21 years of age or older to apply for a farming license. It costs $100 to apply.
The license allows individuals to grow up to 12 marijuana plants, with a maximum of six of those plants flowering. People can also have six clones, also known as the mind. Plants should be enclosed and away from the public eye.
It is also against the law for people with cultivation licenses to sell marijuana that they grow themselves. However, they could give someone up to three ounces, as long as the money was not exchanged.
The application form is available at https://health.mo.gov/safety/cannabis/pdf/sample-consumer-personal-cultivation-application.pdf
Actual individual applicants will be available by February 6th in the DHSS online portal at cannabis.mo.gov.